Skip to main content
Topic: Interface Arduino with GPS, accelerometer, gyro, ecc (Read 21755 times) previous topic - next topic

Interface Arduino with GPS, accelerometer, gyro, ecc

Hello,
I rewrite here my problem more precisely. Ian (crew) has been very kind in the forum Bus pirate, but for my problem I think I need a Bus pirate.
I'm not sure in electronics, but for my degree thesis I have to interface many sensors: GPS, accelerometer, gyro, magnetometer, barometer, odometer.
At the beginning I didn't want to use Arduino because I think it's too complicate for my aim, but now I think this is almost the only way.
My question is:
1) How can I interface Arduino with these sensors?
2) Which modules have I to buy? Including Arduino.
3) Which interface I need for the sensors?
I 'm sorry for the banality of the question, but I'm a beginner.
Thanks to any answer.
stiv

Re: Interface Arduino with GPS, accelerometer, gyro, ecc

Reply #1
If you are not good at Electronics, I guess the Arduino is the only way to go...
There are many Shields for it, that have all the functionality that you need. Check, Seeed, SparkFun, ITead, and Arduino sites...
best regards FIlip.

Reply #2
In the previous forum post you mentioned two boards: Tri-Axis Gyro Breakout and 9 Degrees of Freedom - Razor IMU. And here is what you plan to do:

I have to build a IMU platform integrated with a GPS sensor, and a barometer + sensor of temperature for il positioning in-door, ad example in galleries and undergrowth.

So I'll talk about both boards with keeping your goal in mind: