Skip to main content
Topic: KT-Link/SWD SWV support (Read 10040 times) previous topic - next topic

KT-Link/SWD SWV support

Just a thought:
Maybe you want to also think about connection the FT2232H BDBUS1 (UART RX) to a free pin of the CPLD - it's imo the only thing needed to build the KT-Link interface into the CPLD (KT-Link: http://www.shop.kristech.eu/product_inf ... anguage=EN, user manual with interface diagram on site 6: http://www.shop.kristech.eu/download/KT-LINK-UM-ENG.pdf).
The KT-Link is prepared for the use of the SWD protocol (UART style - so it needs the UART RX) and since this protocol is currently beeing build into OpenOCD I think there will be a lot of people who will use it :).

Nils

Re: Re: Forked FT2232H + CPLD design

Reply #1
I attached the schematic. I don;t quite understand what they are using the UART RX for. I have never heard that SWD or SWV involve a plain UART, though I'm no expert. I always thought it is clock and DIO with a reset like PIC. Here's a reference to various JTAG types:
http://www.computex.co.jp/eg/products/p ... su_eng.pdf

Even with the BDBUS pin there are only 16 pins used.  I am confused why it would straddle the two ports. They cannot be controlled through the same handle, and you loose the UART on the B interface if you make a new handle to use it with the A interface.

Anyone have thoughts or discussion? If it is required, we can roll it into a revision of the Bus Blaster. I'd kind of like to see actual OpenOCD code to check what it is doing first. I recall they said it would be a major rewrite to support SWD, but someone came along and dumped a major patch I think.
Got a question? Please ask in the forum for the fastest answers.

Reply #2
Hi,

there is SWD and part of it is SWV (serial wire viewer).