Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Hacking multi-tool. Get one for $30, including worldwide shipping.

Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:54 am

Hello bus pirates!

I tried i2c communication with bus pirate v3.

I had short connected +5V and VPU pins, but I keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin".
Should I bring outer voltage (DC adapter) to pin VPU? If yes should I also connect GND ?

It seems that v4 solved this more elegant, but I misslooked that when I ordering bus pirate.

So - how can I fix that?
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby Sjaak » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:04 am

Did your BP pass the selftest?

See http://dangerousprototypes.com/docs/Bus ... test_guide for more information.
User avatar
Sjaak
Fellow
Fellow
 
Posts: 3013
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Hiero

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby arakis » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:04 am

Hi welcome, Sorry you're having issues? Did you switch the power supplies on with 'W', and the pull ups with 'P'?
If not try that, if you did, try doing the self test? Hope this helps
best regards FIlip.
arakis
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:30 am

HiZ>~
Disconnect any devices
Connect (Vpu to +5V) and (ADC to +3.3V)
Space to continue
Ctrl
AUX OK
MODE LED OK
PULLUP H OK
PULLUP L OK
VREG OK
ADC and supply
5V(5.02) OK
VPU(5.03) OK
3.3V(3.33) OK
ADC(3.36) OK
Bus high
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
Bus Hi-Z 0
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
Bus Hi-Z 1
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
MODE and VREG LEDs should be on!

Test went OK both leds are on.


I did switch the power supplies on with 'W', and the pull ups with 'P'? but keep getting:
"Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby arakis » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:35 am

That's odd, seems like everything is fine. What hardware rand firmware revision are you running? you can check by using the command 'i'
best regards FIlip.
arakis
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby ian » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:36 am

Did you enable the pullups with the P command?

EDIT: is your target device grounding the pin? What is the voltage measurement on the I2C pins at idle?
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10531
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:37 am

HiZ>i
Bus Pirate v3a
Firmware v5.10 (r559) Bootloader v4.4
DEVID:0x0447 REVID:0x3046 (24FJ64GA002 B8)
http://dangerousprototypes.com
HiZ>

I need to reconnect bus pirate - will take me few hours...
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby ian » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:39 am

Do you get the error even with no device connected to the Bus Pirate in I2C mode?
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10531
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:00 am

Yes - even with no device connected I get:

Ready
I2C>
I2C>
I2C>W
Power supplies ON
I2C>P
Pull-up resistors ON
Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin

"is your target device grounding the pin? What is the voltage measurement on the I2C pins at idle?"
My device is not self powered - It drags power from +5V of bus pirate - is that OK ?
GND is also brought to i2c device from bus pirate pin.
Haven't been able to measure i2c pins yet.
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby ian » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:04 am

Ready
I2C>
I2C>
I2C>W
Power supplies ON
I2C>P
Pull-up resistors ON
Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin


This is with the Vpu pin connected to something?

Very strange that it would pass the self test but not work here. I can't think of how that would be possible.
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10531
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:17 pm

What do you suggest to do next?
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby arakis » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:25 am

Hmm, sorry to bug you again, but could you run through these tests again, thanks.

*connect everything for self test..
*run self test
*now try I2C, leaving all the self test connections on, and not connecting any board/IC to the BS pirate, so try the I2C with selftest connections only..
best regards FIlip.
arakis
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:11 am

Now I don't get this warning after issuing P command in i2c mode.
How can I "try the I2C with selftest connections only.." ? I mean - if I leave jumpers on, I cannot connect my device to it...
Is it possible to replace buspirate with latest version that could programatically regulate Vpullup?
I bought it from sparkfun.

Thanks,

Here is output...

HiZ>~
Disconnect any devices
Connect (Vpu to +5V) and (ADC to +3.3V)
Space to continue
Ctrl
AUX OK
MODE LED OK
PULLUP H OK
PULLUP L OK
VREG OK
ADC and supply
5V(5.02) OK
VPU(5.02) OK
3.3V(3.36) OK
ADC(3.31) OK
Bus high
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
Bus Hi-Z 0
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
Bus Hi-Z 1
MOSI OK
CLK OK
MISO OK
CS OK
MODE and VREG LEDs should be on!
Any key to exit
Found 0 errors.
HiZ>m
1. HiZ
2. 1-WIRE
3. UART
4. I2C
5. SPI
6. 2WIRE
7. 3WIRE
8. LCD
9. DIO
x. exit(without change)

(1)>4
Set speed:
1. ~5KHz
2. ~50KHz
3. ~100KHz
4. ~400KHz

(1)>3
Ready
I2C>P
Pull-up resistors ON
Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin
I2C>W
Power supplies ON
I2C>P
Pull-up resistors ON
I2C>
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:07 pm

OK It works now - it seems I have to used to it.... "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin" really fuzzled me
Is there any sample how to use bus pirate with JAVA on LINUX?

The main problem was trying communication on wrong address - be warned new users - when you issue "I2C sniffer" with (1) command - you get 3 hex addresses listed - I was only trying with first one.

Actually I needed to communicate with R address to device (in documentation of device the first one of "i2c sniffer" is listed).
Last edited by zhivko on Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Keep getting "Warning: no voltage on Vpullup pin"

Postby zhivko » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:09 pm

Found something on following url:
http://jdesbonnet.blogspot.com/2011/06/ ... ature.html
Will try to use it tomorrow.
zhivko
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:47 am

Next

Return to Bus Pirate Support