SOB Name on board layout

Standard PCB templates and project cases

SOB Name on board layout

Postby mobilewill » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:17 pm

Hi,

I am working on my 2nd board using SOB and on this design the board name needs to be moved. Except I can't figure it out. Smashing the board doesn't let me move the name. How do I move it in eagle?

Thanks.
mobilewill
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby mobilewill » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:08 am

I ended up editing the package in the library, but is there a way to do that in the board layout?
mobilewill
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby ian » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:02 am

As far as I know the location is fixed, let me ask around though.
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10567
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby mobilewill » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:08 am

Thanks. I moved it outside the board edge but now it makes oshpark think the board is larger.

I am working on a OLED backpack for this board which also uses the same board size.

https://tindie.com/shops/FriedCircuits/usb-tester/
mobilewill
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby ian » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:45 am

Vimark says:

the board name is fixed and thus sometimes annoying, I can make the board name to be on the bName layer so it can be smashable
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10567
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby vimark » Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:08 am

Hi mobilewill, kindly update your DP eagle library.

I've checked that label layer and yes it is on the bName layer and still I cannot smash and move it. I've edited the board name to ">NAME" and now you can smash and move the label around. This might be the only work-around.
vimark
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby vimark » Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:09 am

btw, the name is now the prefixed "PCB" and not the DPxxxx_v1 anymore. you can change it via "name" command on eagle
vimark
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby vimark » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:06 am

Problem on non movable SoB PCB label were now fixed using device attribute.

regarding the solution... (advice from Sjaak)
in the package editor name the label with the same name of the attribute (e.g. PCB_SIZE), make sure its on the top or bottom names.
in the device editor add an attribute to the device and use the same name (PCB_SIZE), add also a default value (e.g. for the a 30x30mm pcb we put DP3030) and that's it.

attribute label can now be smashed and move around.

btw, SoB PCB in dp library is updated with these, so just update you library.
vimark
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Re: SOB Name on board layout

Postby mobilewill » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:13 am

Thanks! I will do that as soon I as I get home from work. Can't wait, the PCB is about ready to be sent out.
mobilewill
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:48 pm


Return to Sick of Beige