Bus pirate error

Hacking multi-tool. Get one for $30, including worldwide shipping.

Bus pirate error

Postby Zheng » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:09 am

Hello.
I bought BP v3.6, and can't start it to work.
When I connect to it (via Putty or Terminal by Br@y, 115200 8N1) - it doesn't answer and doesn't echo entered letters.
If I connect PGC to PGD then MODE led starts to light (even without reloading BP) and terminal receive answer "BL4+" on every entered letter. In this mode BP can be successfully programmed with "ds30 Loader" (i try bpv3_fw7.0_opt1_18092016.hex and bpv3_fw7.0_opt2_features.hex firmwares), but then it still don't work (with reboot after programming or without).
I tried this on different PC's and different USB ports, and check PIC's TX line with oscilloscope - it just don't answer.

What could it be? Maybe, I should try to reprogram bootloader via PICKIT?
Zheng
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby Zheng » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:19 am

Looks like it work only with BPv3-firmware-v6.3-r2151.hex, and only if it programmed by pirate-loader, and even with this it isn't programming normal every time.
Zheng
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby tayken » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:45 am

Apparently bootloader is acting correctly. It replies "BL4+" on key presses. And the way you managed to enter bootloader suggests it was resetting all the time.

Where did you get the unit? If you can program one firmware, can you try the self test? http://dangerousprototypes.com/docs/Bus ... test_guide

Another thing to check out is voltage levels, shorts etc.
User avatar
tayken
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:58 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby Zheng » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:56 am

Yes, after successful programming I perform self-test and check all voltages, no errors was detected by self-test or found by me.
I buy this unit on ebay. Maybe, PIC chip corrupted, I ran into something like this before.
Zheng
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby tayken » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:48 am

That's what I suspected. Can you check and make sure that the PIC is in fact a PIC24FJ64GA002? We saw people using some other versions and that may be the case as well.
User avatar
tayken
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:58 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby Zheng » Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:28 am

Yes, I check this first thing, it is PIC24FJ64GA002 (or at least marked as it).
Zheng
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Bus pirate error

Postby mikeb » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:04 am

Zheng wrote:Yes, I check this first thing, it is PIC24FJ64GA002 (or at least marked as it).


I think you should try upgrading your firmware: https://github.com/BusPirate/Bus_Pirate
The original firmware of Bus Pirate was somewhat buggy, maybe that's a cause of your problem
mikeb
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:50 am


Return to Bus Pirate Support