Yet another GUI

Hacking multi-tool. Get one for $30, including worldwide shipping.

Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:59 pm

Hello everyone

Here is a little gui I'm writing for my Bus Pirate and as an exercise in Qt. It is far from finish but I thought some of you might find it useful. At the moment, It's nothing more than a modified console with support for the firmware upgrade (which might work on a v4 but I can't test it yet). I use Qt and QSerialDevice so, in theory, it should work under Linux, Windows and Mac but I only work under Linux. Compiling it should be as easy as opening the all.pro file in QtCreator and clicking run or the usual (if you know Qt) qmake/make. If enough of you are interested, I will open a repository somewhere. So what do you think?
Attachments
BuccaneersDen-0.1.tar.gz
Buccaneer's Den 0.1 source code
(184 KiB) Downloaded 521 times
BDen_screenshot.png
Buccaneer's Den screenshot
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby ian » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:27 am

Cool, I'll post it up and try to get a few more testers. I have been mulling over a BP terminal for some time. I'm tired of using the combo of Hercules for binary entry and teraterm for normal terminal stuff. The worst thing about both these apps is that they don't auto-detect the serial ports and I have to look them up in system settings every time.
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10803
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:16 pm

Since the Bus Pirate v3 use generic vid/pid, auto-detection is impossible without talking to the device but if we talk to every FT232 and some are not Bus Pirate, who knows how they will react. Hopefully it would never initiate an auto-destruct sequence but it's still a bad idea. On the other hand, if the v4 vid/pid are truly unique, auto-detection is indeed possible although it will have to be coded in an OS specific manner.

Here is a minor update. I fixed a bug apparent when leaving binary mode and added saving/restoring of the main window geometry and the last used serial port.
Attachments
BuccaneersDen-0.1.1.tar.gz
Buccaneer's Den 0.1.1 source code
(184.31 KiB) Downloaded 407 times
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby wayoda » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:39 am

Hi,
Vincent wrote:Since the Bus Pirate v3 use generic vid/pid, auto-detection is impossible without talking to the device but if we talk to every FT232 and some are not Bus Pirate, who knows how they will react.


Every FT232 has a unique serial string.
My Buspirate can be easily be deteted by looking for the FT232-Device with
idVendor==0x0403 idProduct==0x6001 iSerial==A6005lHV

On Linux you simply create a udev-rule like this one:
/etc/udev/rules.d/bp.rules
Code: Select all
#Create a nice link for the bus-pirate
ATTRS{idVendor}=="0403", ATTRS{idProduct}=="6001", ATTRS{serial}=="A6005lHV", MODE="0666", SYMLINK+="BusPirate"

and the BusPirate can simply be autodetected by checking if /dev/BusPirate exists.

At least on Linux it very simple to autodetect one (or more) BusPirate device(s)

Eberhard
wayoda
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 5:59 am

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby wayoda » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:52 am

MickM wrote:I have it running fine with Fedora 15 x64.
I have never used QT-Creator before.
Where does it put the executable?

The location of the executable is shown in IDE when you start up the application with the run button.
A small console window pops up below the editor and prints something like
Starting /home/wayoda/lab/buspirate/code/all-build-desktop-Desktop_Qt_4_7_4_for_GCC__Qt_SDK__Release/BuccaneersDen/BuccaneersDen...

The build directory is configurable via the "Projects" Button.

Eberhard
wayoda
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 5:59 am

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:19 pm

For those of you who are interested, I just create a project on Google Code.
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby ian » Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:34 am

Cool!
User avatar
ian
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 10803
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby electronplay » Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:08 am

This a good soft, but i doesn't get source from google svn
I want to compil in windows XP and QT

thanks for all
electronplay
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:00 am

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby sqkybeaver » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:33 pm

are there plans to make a more graphical interface, say to be able to change settings and run scripts?
User avatar
sqkybeaver
Hero Member
Hero Member
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:50 am
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:10 pm

electronplay wrote:This a good soft, but i doesn't get source from google svn
I want to compil in windows XP and QT

thanks for all


You don't need a Google id to do a checkout so unless you use a proxy blocking subversion you shouldn't have any problem getting the source. As of r8, it should link and work properly under Windows (XP and hopefully others).
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:22 pm

sqkybeaver wrote:are there plans to make a more graphical interface, say to be able to change settings and run scripts?


Lots of ideas but not so many detailed plans. Scripting is something I will definitely implement although I haven't decided how and it will take a long time to do. I also want to do a scope tab and a complete vt102. As for other things, I'm not sure, I'm open to suggestions.
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby Vincent » Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:30 pm

I realized compiling QSerialDevice under Windows is somewhat annoying. (You need to copy a header from the Qt source to your SDK installation's include directory.) Maybe that problem will appear on some Linux distro too. Anyway, I just uploaded a Windows binary to the project's download section. Direct link. No installer, just a zip file and I'm hopeful it work on every flavor of Windows.
Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby USBEprom » Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:17 pm

Hi there,

I know this is a very old thread but maybe somebody can help me.
I don't knew this GUI that only today I found.
For me it's great and useful simplifing the use of the BP.
Only few questions.
First.
Is here somebody who know if and how is it possible set BP's parameters starting the GUI?
I mean write script where is specified how set the BP.
For instance something like this:

HiZ>m
1. HiZ
2. 1-WIRE
3. UART
4. I2C
5. SPI
6. 2WIRE
7. 3WIRE
8. LCD
x. exit(without change)

(1)>7
Set speed:
1. ~5KHz
2. ~50KHz
3. ~100KHz
4. ~400KHz

(1)>4
CS:
1. CS
2. /CS *default

(2)>2
Select output type:
1. Open drain (H=Hi-Z, L=GND)
2. Normal (H=3.3V, L=GND)

(1)>1
Clutch disengaged!!!
To finish setup, start up the power supplies with command 'W'

Ready
3WIRE>W
POWER SUPPLIES ON
Clutch engaged!!!
3WIRE>P
Pull-up resistors ON

Second that perhaps it's due operating system I'm using (Windows 8.1).
I noticed that when performing long script using the SEND button almost always there is need to repeat the SEND push button more time before the sequence can be said ended.
Is here somebody who know something about this?

Third, that perhaps is the same for the previous behaviour, seems to me command history and logging don't work under Windows 8.1.
Is here someone who has tested them and can tell if they work with earlier versions of Windows?

Thanks in advance and regards,

U.Sb
USBEprom
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby USBEprom » Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:38 pm

USBEprom wrote:Third, that perhaps is the same for the previous behaviour, seems to me command history and logging don't work under Windows 8.1.


OK, I'm babo!
Command history works by sending the DOSKEY command in the terminal.
About logging feature I know nothing using Windows 8.1.

Regards,

U.Sb
USBEprom
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Yet another GUI

Postby USBEprom » Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:54 am

USBEprom wrote:logging don't work under Windows 8.1.


OK, I'm twice babo!
Actually logging work like a charm but using Windows 8.1 it is in a different path:
C:\Users\user_name\.buccaneers
I solved by adding a link in the program folder.

Regards,

U.Sb (the worldwide's most babo)
USBEprom
Full Member
Full Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:09 pm

Next

Return to Bus Pirate Support