SPI Signal, long cable and some questions

Anything not related to a specific project.

SPI Signal, long cable and some questions

Postby michu » Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:56 am

Hey guys

I work on a led project and i'm really stuck! The main issue is, that i use a spi signal over a long distance. I'm not a electrical engineer an that's why I'm asking the community for some hints. To get help, I wrote my problem down as detailed as possible:

http://neophob.com/2012/03/lpd6803-spi- ... -distance/

It would be great if someone could take a look at this topic and give me some feedback, concreate to those questions:

-what kind of Imped­ance resistor (between gnd and clk) would you use?
-what kind of capacitor the clean out DC would you use?
-did I forget something important?
-other hints....

cheers
michu
michu

Re: SPI Signal, long cable and some questions

Postby Bertho » Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:33 pm

michu wrote:-what kind of Imped­ance resistor (between gnd and clk) would you use?
-what kind of capacitor the clean out DC would you use?
-did I forget something important?
-other hints....

Termination resistors need to be balanced between Vcc and GND. The classic TTL termination uses a 330R and a 220R resistor (330 to Vcc and 220 to ground) resulting in a 132R termination, assuming that the PSU impedance is low. If you only terminate to one side, then you may not be able to reach the required signal levels for '1' and '0'. Your termination resistors will depend on the line impedance you have. You can see reflections on a scope and you can tune the termination until the reflections are gone.