Are you using Kicad ?

Anything not related to a specific project.

Are you using Kicad ?

Postby octal » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:22 pm

Hello,
I'm long time user of Diptrace (and long time hater of Eagle), and I'm looking at switching to Kicad in order to publish open hardware projects made with completely open software tools.
Are you using Kicad? are you using it to produce real boards?
any return of experience or feedback will be welcome.

regards
octal
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:46 am
Location: France

Re: Are you using Kicad ?

Postby octal » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:00 am

42 views and no asnwer. Seems DP community changed a lot these last two years. No sharing, no discussions, ...
what happens with you guys?
octal
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:46 am
Location: France

Re: Are you using Kicad ?

Postby tayken » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:16 am

Well, seems like life happened to people. Like my case.

I used KiCad for one project only and I am happy about it. My friends from my hackerspace used it more than me after my suggestion and they seems to like it. One argument I made was "If it's good enough for CERN, it's good enough for me" :)

It takes a bit getting used to. Most problematic part for me was using PCBNew. You only have one trace width defined and if you want to add new ones you have to add them manually one by one, not like Eagle where they have tons of trace and via sizes defined. But I heard good things about the push&shove router.
User avatar
tayken
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:58 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan


Return to General discussion

cron