Skip to main content
Topic: IR Toy with web platform (Read 2303 times) previous topic - next topic

IR Toy with web platform

Hi,

I'm new to all this. My idea is to combine the IR Toy with the web platform to be able to transmit IR signals through lan (from a smartphone or laptop). But I don't really know if that would work well. Because is it even possible to connect them together? Both do have USB but the IR Toy uses USB HID while the web platform has a serial to USB converter. Does anyone have an idea? It would be a really nice project, but I don't really know where I should start.

thanks in advance :)

Re: IR Toy with web platform

Reply #1
Hi geegos,

You could make the web platform transmit IR codes using a simple LED and transistor. The firmware would be moderately complex though, depending on your experience level.
Got a question? Please ask in the forum for the fastest answers.

Reply #2
If we are able to get FreeRTOS running on the Web Platform then it should be much easier to do things like this.  Adding this functionality would be accomplished by running the relevant IR Toy code in a new thread.  This is the kind of thing FreeRTOS makes much easier.  If you already have most of work done as stand alone code then adding it to a FreeRTOS project is usually not too hard and much easier than trying to add the functionality to typical embedded supper loop code.

-Eric

Reply #3
thanks for the answers. Well I guess it would be too difficult for me to "reinvent" the ir toy. But the FreeRTOS aspect would be nice. But the project isn't that far right now, is it?

But afterall I'm quiet a newbie at microcontrollers ;) Just made really basic things in VDHL at the university. But someone can always learn ;)

Reply #4
[quote author="geegos"]
Well I guess it would be too difficult for me to "reinvent" the ir toy. [/quote]

It certainly could be done.  I have not looked at the code for the IR Toy or the current Web Platform so I have no idea how hard it would be.