Skip to main content
Topic: Servo Testing using PWM Generator (Read 6268 times) previous topic - next topic

Servo Testing using PWM Generator

Hey All,

I love using my BP to debug random circuit projects, and I've only just run into a shortcoming I (think I) can solve:

The PWM generation works great for most applications, but when I try to use it for servos, I find it can't go that low.

The PWM Generator prompt asks for a signal frequency in KHz, but I Need 50Hz (with 5%-10% duty cycle for fullLeft-fullRight).

I tried to write a macro that would just do the delays (go high, wait 1ms, go low, wait 19ms) but this turned out to be >1000 characters (since the delay is in us instead of ms).

So I'm proposing two changes:
* Be able to enter PWM frequency in Hz
* Be able to enter delay in ms

Either as new commands or new syntax for the existing commands (any suggestions?)

As I'm new to this, I'm guessing the protocol is: Checkout source, build/modify/test, and submit a patch when I'm done?

Thanks in advance,
~Alex

Re: Servo Testing using PWM Generator

Reply #1
At the very least you can grab the source and see what you can come up with. If you do get something working then I'm sure submitting a patch or checking in your changes can be worked out with the moderator.

Reply #2
There will be a command that will wait 1ms. I haven't got the time to implement it yet, but it is on its way.

I don't think the PWM will go as low as 50Hz, I beleive the minimum is around 1Khz.

Reply #3