Skip to main content
Topic: Eagle PCB routing help? (Read 8192 times) previous topic - next topic

Eagle PCB routing help?

Hi,
I'm trying to design a PCB for my nixie tube alarm clock controller, based on SparkFun's Arduino Pro Micro. Unfortunately I'm a newbie at PCB routing, so apart from using the Eagle autorouter (which never gets to 100%) I don't really know how to make traces, vias, etc.

Is there someone that could point me to a good resource to learn how to route PCBs?
Or maybe I could hire someone to do this routing for me?

I've attached the Eagle files.

Thanks,
Michael

Re: Eagle PCB routing help?

Reply #1
I did most of the routing, but there is a net named 3.3v that are only connected to

pin 2@touch connector
pin 10@hv (nixie) connector
pin 8@user connector
pin 2@icsp connector

and nowhere else.  This seems a bit strange considering they are marked as vcc on the schematics so I've connected it all to the real vcc (the output of the vreg).

The DS3234 was not connected to any power at all (neither vcc nor 3.3v) so I also connected it to vcc.

Reply #3
Before you even get to routing, consider these suggestions:

1) The ATMEGA32U4 in a QFN has an exposed ground pad.  Your library package is wrong.
2) Why use a QFN when there are QPF package choices available?  QFNs are tricky.  They are best laid down with uniform heat, however if you intend on using an iron, you might consider putting through hole vias below the ground pad and a solder mask relief on the bottom side so you can heat the pad solder from underneath with a blade tip.  Alternatively QFPs are very forgiving to solder.
3) You've somehow screwed up your net names for your supply.  You have two separate nets - 'VCC' and '3.3V' connected to the VCC symbol on your schematic.  Thus they form two distinct unconnected segments - not what you intended I'm sure.  ie. The MCU is connected to the LDO, however all the VCC pins on all the headers are connected to one another and isolated.