Skip to main content
Topic: How do I program a PIC with Bus Pirate? (Read 7952 times) previous topic - next topic

How do I program a PIC with Bus Pirate?

Okay first off I am new to programming PIC's and was looking at using the bus Pirate as a PIC programmer.  I have a handfull of questions that I can't seem to find the answer to.

1. can I program newer PIC's without the bus pirate pic programmer board (the extra board that sits on top)

2. Can I write code in C with MPLAB and then compile and send it to my PIC using the bus pirate?

3. If so how do I go about doing this, do I need to download drivers or something like that?

In short I want to write C code, and send it to my PIC chips with the bus pirate.  I just don't know how or even if I can.

Thanks in advance.

(I apologize if this is already addressed, I have been looking for a couple days now and can't seem to find an answer)

Re: How do I program a PIC with Bus Pirate?

Reply #1
here is the pic prog's wiki: http://dangerousprototypes.com/docs/Bus ... ng_adapter

and more information can be found browsing the forums. But as I understand it; at the moment its still (For the most part?) being developed. I do know it has quite a few PICs that are compatible but .

1. X

2. Yes; you can write code in MPLAB; compile it; then upload the hex. Like you would with the Pickit2 standalone application. Once you compile an application; in that projects folder there should be a <project name>.hex file. So really just write it; ensure to properlly link it with its PIC MCU support files and use the correct compiler; and hit the build button. Simple as that to generate a .hex file. I also think there is a 'Export Hex' in the file menu; i could be wrong about that.

3. There is a picProg application package which needs to be used with the Bus Pirate and the pic programmer adapter.

Reply #2