Skip to main content
Topic: Universal MCU Programmer (Read 7477 times) previous topic - next topic

Universal MCU Programmer

Dangerous Prototypes community,

I just broke into electronics, I am a computer engineering student at a four year university, and I am going to start participating where I can here...

So right now I am still learning what most of you might consider basics, but I am currently working on a little tool I am calling usb pirate (this name is probably already used, but since I doubt this will leave my local machine I didn't care)

It's pretty simple, I am using the FT232R (as used in the usb lcd universal backpack), and expanding its serial output to 16 bits with 2 series shift registers (the same shift register used in the usb lcd backpack (74HC595), in fact most of this circuit is from the usb lcd backpack). I've also added a 12V output (5 to 12V stepup with enable output) that is digitally controlled by the FT232R.

So my intention with device is programming any MCU that I want, as well as having more than enough 5V outputs than I can possibly want for other uses. The software used to control the board is already written, all that I need to develop is programming routines for specific MCUs (PIC, 8051, ect). Software has always been a strength of mine.

It would be cool to get pointed in a better direction with my hardware, or just even be aware of limitations. I will post additional information upon request.

So in the unanticipated event that this is something that might want to be documented and worked on here, fuck to the yea. Id be happy to open a project.

-FatalShrooms

Re: Universal MCU Programmer

Reply #1
Of course I didnt even look at Bus Pirate. Looks like I am building that...

Reply #2