Skip to main content
Topic: Unbricking a WRT320N with Bus Pirate? (Read 27981 times) previous topic - next topic

Unbricking a WRT320N with Bus Pirate?

Hello Everyone.

I recently bricked my Linksys WRT320N and i am trying to recover it. It does not respond to pings so i can't use the normal method of sending the firmware over tftp to fix it.

I also read that on this particular router you can not use JTAG to flash it.

So the last option i have is connection to the serial interface. The serial interface is a 3.3v RS232 connection. The pinout is supossedly the same pinout as the WRT610N (http://www.twam.info/hardware/adding-rs ... ys-wrt610n)

Since i have no usb to serial adapters i figured this would be a good time to try out my bus pirate

has anybody ever done this? I am new to the bus pirate and i have read a few tutorials to try and get my bearing.

From what it seems this should be set to UART 8N1 mode with normal voltages. It also looked like I may want to use Macro (1), but every time i try to use this it says "NO SUCH MACRO IN THIS MODE, TRY ? OR (0) FOR HELP"

Does anyone have any suggestions, tips? is this even possible?

Re: Unbricking a WRT320N with Bus Pirate?

Reply #1
Can you please show the log from your terminal?

What firmware version are you using ('i' menu)?
Got a question? Please ask in the forum for the fastest answers.

Reply #2
i returns
Hack a Day Bus Pirate v2go
http://www.buspirate.com
Firmware v2.0
POWER SUPPLIES ON
VOLTAGE MONITOR: 5V: 5.0 | 3.3V: 3.3 | VPULLUP: 0.0 |
AUX: DEFAULT SETTING (AUX PIN)
Normal outputs (H=Vcc, L=GND)
PULLUP RESISTORS OFF
BITORDER CONFIGURATION NOT ALLOWED IN THIS MODE

log
M
1. HiZ
2. 1-WIRE
3. UART
4. I2C
5. SPI
6. JTAG
7. RAW2WIRE
8. RAW3WIRE
9. PC KEYBOARD
10. MIDI
11. LCD
(1) >3
MODE SET
Set serial port speed: (bps)
 1. 300
 2. 1200
 3. 2400
 4. 4800
 5. 9600
 6. 19200
 7. 38400
 8. 57600
 9. 115200
(1) >9
Data bits and parity:
 1. 8, NONE *default
 2. 8, EVEN
 3. 8, ODD
 4. 9, NONE
(1) >1
Stop bits: